Author Topic: Men's business clothing  (Read 7095 times)

bdc

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Men's business clothing
« on: August 24, 2014, 02:51:38 PM »
I work in a business/business casual environment.  My wardrobe needs to be professional but not particularly stylish.  Thrift stores (e.g. Goodwill) don't seem like a good option: it's time consuming and frequently too out of fashion to be practical.  Ideas for stores or websites to get moderate quality at low cost? 
« Last Edit: August 24, 2014, 07:21:57 PM by bdc »

JeffC

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Men's business clothing
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2014, 05:12:25 PM »
Do you consider TJ Maxx and Marshall's to be thrift stores?  They are my go-to for workwear (I'm a professor) and I can usually find a shirt or two there for 10-20 bucks that is a season or two old.  As I don't care which season things are from, I can get some good deals on some respectable looking stuff.  The key is to just pop in and scan quick, regularly.  If you go in with the idea that you can't leave without a shirt, etc. It could become frustrating.  It's on my way home from work so I pop in 4x per year or so and usually end up getting something decent for not much money.   Also, H&M is a retailer of dirt-cheap ($15-30) office-appropriate gear.   

C. K.

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2014, 06:13:55 PM »
If you're buying off the rack, be sure to fit the widest part of your body first, then have the rest tailored. (You can find a tailor or seamstress at your local cleaners.)  Having clothes that fit your shape makes you appear a bit more professional, not to mention they are far more comfortable.

CabinetGuy

• Stubble
« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2014, 06:32:07 PM »
Any mens consignment shops around you?  We have some in my area, and some deals are to be found.

Jon

ADV_CJ

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #4 on: August 26, 2014, 04:07:44 AM »