Author Topic: Summer reading- book recommendations  (Read 8800 times)

essjay43

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Summer reading- book recommendations
« on: July 02, 2014, 09:16:57 AM »
About to being a vacation and am looking for some recommendations. I'm trying to avoid any real dry financial books, but something that promotes mustachianism would be ideal.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Summer reading- book recommendations
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2014, 10:20:53 AM »
About to being a vacation and am looking for some recommendations. I'm trying to avoid any real dry financial books, but something that promotes mustachianism would be ideal.

Skim through some of the threads in the Mustachian Book Club Section of the forums and see if anything strikes your fancy.

http://forum.mrmoneymustache.com/mustachian-book-club/
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

Chaplin

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2014, 10:25:53 PM »
Here are a few random suggestions. They don't don't necessarily promote mustachianism, but hopefully there's some loose connection...

Non-Fiction:

Tim Harford's "Undercover Economist" books, especially "The Undercover Economist Strikes Back."

"Essentialism" - Greg McKeown

"A Geography of Hope: A Tour of the World we Need" - Chris Turner

Fiction:

"A Fine Balance" - Rohinton Mistry

"Into The Wild" - John Krakauer

MgoSam

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2014, 02:00:36 AM »
A GiveGuide to the Good Life by William Irvine

[Mod Edit: Typo fixed to be helpful for someone looking for that book. :) ]
« Last Edit: July 06, 2014, 08:52:51 AM by arebelspy »

Chaplin

• Handlebar Stache