Author Topic: Let's Talk About Whether Driving or Cycling Is More Dangerous Again  (Read 18199 times)

jordanread

I threw myself in. I rode in to work yesterday and today, maybe I can actually make it a month. I've never done that before and I need to get miles in for a century I'm doing in June. My commute is 8 miles each way in congested suburban traffic. I actually miss my much longer 18 miles each way commute that was mostly on trails. I had a lady today who was very confused about passing. She slowed down, looked at me timidly while giving me about 6 inches of space, then finally worked the courage to pass. There was no one behind her or on the side, 4 lane boulevard. idk why she didn't take the left lane, maybe she was texting and I just lucky I wasn't hit. Stuff like this makes me reconsider riding in, I've got kids now.

Don't forget that it's still more dangerous to drive. If you have kids, it should make you think twice about driving in. :-)

MOD EDIT: Split from May Cycling Challenge 2014
« Last Edit: May 02, 2014, 05:23:26 PM by Russ »

mindaugas

• Bristles
    • Mike Says Meh
Re: Re: May Cycling Challege 2014
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2014, 02:23:47 PM »

Don't forget that it's still more dangerous to drive. If you have kids, it should make you think twice about driving in. :-)
[/quote]

I hope you're being sarcastic. No, I do not buy into that argument and frankly it's asinine. Come on this is obvious. I've been hit in my car, and I've been hit on my bike (by a car, also a bike, also a person). The injuries and outcome were drastically different. You can walk away from a car accident injury free, bike you're lucky to be alive. There are all those stats to back me up as well aside from my own anecdotal evidence. I live in the practical world where roads were originally designed for cars.

Sorry, this is probably going to inflame some people so if we want we can start a new thread on common sense cycling safety.

jordanread