Author Topic: What kind of bikes do you use?  (Read 29519 times)

JadamR15

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
What kind of bikes do you use?
« on: July 22, 2012, 02:30:40 PM »
Hey fellow Mustachians,

I'm a relative noob, but I've been reading posts on this site for a few months now.  Notably, I've sold my car so I can bike to work, which is often only a few miles away. 

Anyone have any recommendations on what bike to purchase, or on living life while biking frequently, in general?

Thanks ya'all!

--Joe, Surprise AZ

gooki

• Magnum Stache
    • My FIRE journal
Re: What kind of bikes do you use?
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2012, 04:04:07 PM »
I bike to work on this (10 to 20km daily commute in a flat city):
http://www.khsbicycles.com/06_urban_soul_12.htm

Single speed.
Light weight steel frame.
Good brakes.
Semi upright riding position.
Cost approx $200 USD

I've since sold all my other bikes (racing bike, old 18 speed commuter).

smalllife

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2012, 07:15:55 PM »
I have a mid 1970s Schwinn Collegiate - 5 speed, steel, built to last.  It came with basket panniers and cost me all of $200 purchase and tune up combined.   It's an awesome bike, but the ladies version.  I'm a sucker for vintage steel bikes though, they just seem sturdier and more reliable than what's in the shops these days.

This will be my commuting bike in a couple of months when I move closer to work. 

I'm on the lookout for a vintage steel touring bike, not crucially needed but would be nice on the days when I want a speedier/more aggressive ride. 

I agree with gooki on the semi-upright posture.  It's way more relaxed and was the primary thing I was looking for in my first bike.   

JadamR15

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2012, 09:23:03 PM »
Thanks for the replies, fellas. 

sol

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #4 on: July 22, 2012, 09:42:22 PM »