Author Topic: Forum is very erratic lately  (Read 32646 times)

Syonyk

• Magnum Stache
    • Syonyk's Project Blog
Forum is very erratic lately
« on: April 21, 2015, 05:15:02 PM »
I've been seeing a lot of lag on page load, and the past two nights, I can't even connect to the forum (from, say, midnight to 3AM Pacific - newborns do this to one).

Is anything going on?  Or is any advice needed on scaling forum load?  I work for a large internet company and would be happy to help out if there were any sysadmin needs.

Cathy

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Forum is very erratic lately
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2015, 07:24:46 PM »
We can only speculate about what specific scaling issues might be in play, but who says speculation can't be fun? ;-)

I have extensive experience administering internet forums and I have fixed scaling issues on forums many times in the past. Typically off-the-shelf forum software fails to create the indexes that are necessary to run common queries efficiently, so the forums eventually become extremely slow and unreliable.

vbulletin historically (and maybe still today) did not create any indexes to help lookup a user's IP addresses, or to find a user by IP. On one large vbulletin forum I used to administer, recursive IP searches would take down the site. I've never dealt with Simple Machines forum but it's probably similarly bad.

Assuming the forum uses MySQL, the usual solution is to enable the slow query log and use it to determine what indexes should be created.

That said, this forum is relatively small so the issue might even be something more basic, like say the web server configuration not having high enough parallelism (e.g. insufficient worker threads/processes if using Apache like the Server header suggests).

It could also be a DDOS attack of some flavour, although I doubt it because they wouldn't just attack the forum to the exclusion of the main website.
« Last Edit: April 21, 2015, 07:38:17 PM by Cathy »

Syonyk

• Magnum Stache