Author Topic: Struggling to find new clients  (Read 5141 times)

supomglol

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Struggling to find new clients
« on: August 24, 2017, 11:12:55 AM »
WARNING: Long text to follow
Hello fellow MMM forum members,

I am posting here in the Entrepreneurship section hoping for some assistance on how to gain new clients for my IT consulting business.  I have been officially "in business" for 6 years now (LLC) and have been doing side-work unofficially for about 10 years now.  Finding new business has always been a personal weakness of mine, I originally started with a business partner who was supposed to fill this role.  This partner ultimately failed at their job and we eventually went our separate ways.  I have been doing everything on my own now for 4 years. 
I recently lost my full-time job and have decided to put another wave of effort into growing this side-business into a full-time gig which would give me the wealth and flexibility I need.

For the last 2 years I have also done real-estate investing using a friend's money as capital.  We own that business 50/50, I put in time, he puts in the money.  We have 7 ‘doors’ and it is going along great but that income is "some-day" money, not right-now money.  IE: part of my long-term retirement plan.  Based on my experience with the workload of this business, I believe I could reasonably accommodate as many as 20 'doors' before requiring assistance or considering it a near full-time job.  I cannot buy any additional properties until my business partner produces additional un-needed cash.  It could take us 5-10 years to reach 20 ‘doors’.