Author Topic: Starting a cleaning business  (Read 1809 times)

wbsneed

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Starting a cleaning business
« on: September 24, 2018, 01:12:07 PM »
Hello all,

This is my first ever post. I've been reading around for a few days, and that has bolstered my idea to start a cleaning business. I've thought about this off and on for a few months, and see no real drawbacks. I work full-time as a cop in Central TX, just for anyone's curiosity. My job allows me a good bit of time to send emails, set up scheduling, etc. I also have a sister-in-law who I can trust to help me get this off the ground without doing 100% of the work myself. My goal is to start the business and eventually hire 5 or so cleaners to do the labor.

I'm posting because I don't know what my first step ought to be. Do I have to be licensed or bonded? What about insurance? I'm hoping that I can build enough of a client base while working on the weekend or after 5pm, because I need to keep my day job. I have been told to develop a business plan, but what else needs to happen right now?

Many thanks in advance
*(Sorry for the double post!)
« Last Edit: September 24, 2018, 01:31:31 PM by wbsneed »

scantee

• Pencil Stache
Re: Starting a cleaning business
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2018, 01:51:27 PM »
Consider that the labor market is very tight right now. Particularly at the low wage end (which is what I assume you’ll be paying your cleaners) there is a ton of demand and not nearly enough supply. How will you compete with other employers of low wage workers? Will you have good benefits, flexible schedule, higher than expected pay? If you dont plan on distinguishing your business in any way then plan for high turnover.