Author Topic: Starting a cleaning businsess  (Read 2372 times)

wbsneed

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Starting a cleaning businsess
« on: September 24, 2018, 01:17:22 PM »
Hello all,

This is my first ever post. I've been reading around for a few days, and that has bolstered my idea to start a cleaning business. I've thought about this off and on for a few months, and see no real drawbacks. I work full-time as a cop in Central TX, just for anyone's curiosity. My job allows me a good bit of time to send emails, set up scheduling, etc. I also have a sister-in-law who I can trust to help me get this off the ground without doing 100% of the work myself. My goal is to start the business and eventually hire 5 or so cleaners to do the labor.

I'm posting because I don't know what my first step ought to be. Do I have to be licensed or bonded? What about insurance? I'm hoping that I can build enough of a client base while working on the weekend or after 5pm, because I need to keep my day job. I have been told to develop a business plan, but what else needs to happen right now?

Many thanks in advance

lexde

• Magnum Stache
Re: Starting a cleaning businsess
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2018, 08:04:39 AM »
Not licensed to practice in Texas, so this isn’t legal advice.

1. Decide on a business structure. DBA vs LLC vs corporation.
2. Pick your unique business name and register it with your state’s Division of Corporations or local county if DBA/fictitious name.
3. Obtain your FEIN.
4. Open company bank account/cards.
5. Obtain any applicable licenses and permits.

Here seems to be a good resource for your state. https://businessintexas.com/start-business

Also ensure you are complying with annual requirements depending on your business structure.

Proud Foot

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2018, 01:21:39 PM »