Author Topic: So I built a website.  (Read 3749 times)

frost7777

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
    • ModernNomads
So I built a website.
« on: March 17, 2018, 07:22:22 PM »
OK, just a little background. 
I'm a software engineer, my work is pretty much limited to data migrations between databases. I don't work on software development, user interfaces or any front end stuff like that.  So feeling a little bit hemmed in, I decided to play around with building a website just to expand my experience a little bit and was hoping for some feedback.

I'm not selling anything, and at this point don't have any monetization enabled.  But would absolutely love some thoughts on weather or not this site could be turned into a side gig if I put some advertising, or affiliate links on the site.  I freely admit that I have absolutely no idea what I am doing in regards to web marketing or website design for that matter.

www.modernnomads.org

Some more info after your first impressions.
1.  The website is rebuilt every night.
2.  The image on the landing page and the quote are randomly drawn from my database and change nightly.
3.  Procedures check for new videos every day and add the links to my database.
4.  All of the sub pages/lists are regenerated nightly.
5.  I only have 6 publishers in my database currently.  I am in the process of expanding the list, but don't think I want to go over 20 publishers.

Thank you in advance for any feedback.

mozar

• Magnum Stache
Re: So I built a website.
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2018, 04:11:43 PM »
First of all can you put a video on your landing page? Like the header?

So you're a video aggregator? There are so many youtube channels of people who go out and interview people who are traveling then film/edit/ and post to their own channels and are getting a following that way. Check out Dylan Magaster. And the youtube algorithm also does this. Nice website though. You can put adds on it if you want.

zazpowered

• 5 O'Clock Shadow