Author Topic: Side Hustle - Accounting Services, where to begin?  (Read 4609 times)

Maccountant

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Side Hustle - Accounting Services, where to begin?
« on: April 24, 2018, 03:55:23 PM »
I am a CPA working my way to FI.

I am not financially in a position to completely jettison the day job...yet, and even after FIRE I want to continue to work at least 20-25 hrs a week. I am thinking I should start building a clientele of my own on the side so that in the next couple of years when I leave the corporate world I have a handful of clients already on board for me to serve "while retired".

I want to have geographic flexibility and keep my overhead operating costs low, so I have no intention of renting an office space and "hanging my shingle".

How can I market to technologically savvy entrepreneurs and freelances who would be looking for the services of a CPA, but are willing to work through "the cloud" as opposed to the traditional brick and mortar consulting I currently do for small business owners?

I have thought of Google adwords or Facebook adds, but this is a side hustle so I am tying to bootstrap this idea rather than sink a bunch of cash into advertising.

What other resources have any of you come across that have helped you market your business and build a targeted clientele?

Smokystache

• Pencil Stache
Re: Side Hustle - Accounting Services, where to begin?
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2018, 02:20:35 PM »