Author Topic: Self-employment - Contributing to IRA?  (Read 3961 times)

mustachedali

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Self-employment - Contributing to IRA?
« on: December 16, 2017, 12:42:02 AM »
Hello, newbie here. I live abroad but I'm American and I am registering my own LLC.

• What is the best structure for a tax-free retirement savings plan?
  • Is there a way to contribute my taxable self-employment income to go to my retirement savings?

Thanks!

jpdx

• Pencil Stache
Re: Self-employment - Contributing to IRA?
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2017, 09:27:53 PM »
Yes! There are a few options, such as a SEP IRA or Individual 401k. Start by googling those and you'll learn the differences.

I use a SEP IRA, just for the relative simplicity. A self-employed person can contribute 20% of their business profit. I think it's 25% if you're an employee-owner. And you can still do your regular IRA contribution of $5500 on top of that.
« Last Edit: December 18, 2017, 01:16:50 PM by jpdx »

angelleye

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2017, 02:29:26 PM »
I would recommend a Solo 401k.  You can set up both Roth and Traditional, and you can contribute up to $18k as an employee as well as 25% of the salary you're paying yourself as Employer match (up to a max combined contribution $54k).  You can still IRA separate from that, too.

mustachedali

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2018, 10:41:27 AM »
I would recommend a Solo 401k.  You can set up both Roth and Traditional, and you can contribute up to $18k as an employee as well as 25% of the salary you're paying yourself as Employer match (up to a max combined contribution $54k).  You can still IRA separate from that, too.

Would a Solo 401k work well for an LLC?

rockwater

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #4 on: January 07, 2018, 06:56:47 PM »
I'm wondering about this as well.

Had started a Roth prior to being self-employed, but curious what my best options are for efficient contributing.