Author Topic: Passive income - photography  (Read 7402 times)

gnesher

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Passive income - photography
« on: March 02, 2017, 05:05:23 AM »
Hi guys,

I've been following this forum (and blog obviously) for a few months and wanted to hear your thoughts / experiences with making some passive income through photography.

My situation is this, I'm an amateur photographer with about 8 years of experience doing mostly travel photography. I've recently started uploading photos to Society6 (an online store that sells prints etc.) and Shutterstock (micro stock photography, cheap images sold to advertiser).

After about 6 months im making around 15-20$ a month, which is a nice progression, but not a lot of money in absolute terms. I'm wondering if I should continue to pursue this or am I just banging my head against a wall here.

This is meant to make me some passive income (not replace full time job while I have one) but I'll need to make around 500$ a month for this to be worthwhile really.

Have you tried making money like this before? What was your experience? What are my chances?

J Boogie

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Passive income - photography
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2017, 07:20:05 AM »
How many images have you uploaded?

swick

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2017, 08:20:36 AM »
I don't do stock photography because the only people who make substantial money at it are people with either a huge catalog or create pictures that have commercial appeal, often both.

Most everyone starts with travel photography, but that's not really what people want images of (for stock) They want images that will provide a return for them. People pictures, since they don't have to worry about model releases (but you do!) Pictures displaying specific and easy to recognize emotions. Pictures that are composed using design concepts and psychology to sell.