Author Topic: Home 3D Printer For Custom Parts, maybe car restorations?  (Read 2003 times)

El Cuajinais

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Home 3D Printer For Custom Parts, maybe car restorations?
« on: February 17, 2018, 02:37:28 PM »
I'm a mechanical engineer and have spent my career in aerospace and now renewables. I've designed many components for jet engines and wind turbines for the big companies. I have a large FFF 3D printer at home that can print in engineering plastics like nylon and polycarbonate. I printed a nylon roller that enabled me to fix my car window without having to buy the entire window motor assembly because that roller is not sold separately.

I would think that there a market out there for this. Also I can design and perform structural analysis for any component that would need it. I'm looking for ideas and suggestions on how to run a side gig with this skill set. The hiccup I see is that design takes time, and so would be to costly unless the custom part in question can be sold at a business-to-business price.

Thanks in advance. (I've just discovered this board a few days ago and have been blown away.)

BeautifulDay

• Bristles
Re: Home 3D Printer For Custom Parts, maybe car restorations?
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2018, 07:15:47 AM »
My husband is a teacher in an after school maker program and his students often make repair parts for items needed around the campus. Vacuum cleaner parts, replacement covers for lights, etc.  Lower tech than what your talking about, but similar idea. As this is a class, they haven't had to turn it into a business model.  They are also using a printer that can print durable materials.