Author Topic: Career Transition Business Targeting Teachers-Feedback Welcome!  (Read 1214 times)

CatamaranSailor

• Stubble
I was a public school teacher for many years before transitioning into industry. I recently watched a news piece on Vice regarding the mass exodus of public school teachers due to lack of pay, frustration with the profession, ridiculous requirements, etc. While I hate the fact public education has gotten to this point, I feel like I could really help teachers make the jump into other professions.

I've always been able to land jobs I wasn't "technically" qualified for. I've met a bunch of teachers who've told me they were worried no one would hire them because they didn't have any experience in anything other than running a classroom.

My thought is this: A general site/blog/community that is 100% free to users. Good articles and info on navigating career transition, interviewing, managing an online presence, social media, etc.

Paid content would be online courses for teachers who want to dig deeper and follow a specific path---------> Teacher to Technical Writer.....that kind of thing.

I love to hear feedback on this idea, pros and cons.

I have the technical chops to create the content and I really do have a soft spot in my heart for teachers!

2Cent

• Pencil Stache
Re: Career Transition Business Targeting Teachers-Feedback Welcome!
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2018, 09:43:46 AM »
Spending hours and hours to create quality teaching content that people are actually willing to pay for would be the biggest investment and would need many takers to be worth it. There is a huge bulk of free learning material out there and it will be hard to compete.

An easier way to generate money is to market other people's products. Things like boot camps are great for career changes. Also you could put job adds on your site that you think are appropriate.