Author Topic: SOLVED! You can delete....  (Read 2300 times)

tag

• Stubble
SOLVED! You can delete....
« on: January 10, 2018, 04:33:57 PM »
Hi all!

Thanks to advice and support from many of you I recently started my own business! I am a Professional Organizer/Home and Family Consultant....I help people organize their living and working spaces, their time and their lives so that they reflect their highest priorities and deepest desires. I'm focusing on home organizing, retirement downsizing and minimizing (the closest to my heart :). I am absolutely loving it so far and I know I've hit gold because I would do it for free. We are FIRE so this isn't about the money for me. But I'm finally filling a void that I have had for 7 years - since leaving the work force to homeschool my 4 kiddos.

ANYWAY, I'm learning that I need to protect my time. I'm putting a cancellation policy in place and want to run it by anyone who will read it. I don't want to make it harder for people to do business with me, and I don't want to "punish" people for canceling due to circumstances beyond their control or even just for changing their mind actually. The main thing is, I still have to book a babysitter in order for me to go out, and I pay her well and have to schedule her in advance. So I'd like to as much as possible minimize cancellations.

This is what I'm thinking....

1) Initial phone or internet communication (brief).

2) In-home consult, 30-60 minutes. Charge my hourly rate for this but if the appointment converts to payed business, this hour is waved. At this time, take payment for a 3 hour working session (my minimum) and schedule it.

3) If the client has to reschedule at any time, no problem. The 3 hours can be used at any time or even gifted to someone else. If the client wants to cancel, I offer 1/2 refund. (Or no refund? Or all? Or a completely different process?)