Author Topic: What did you do to keep your house cool?  (Read 18196 times)

J Boogie

• Handlebar Stache
Re: What did you do to keep your house cool?
« Reply #100 on: July 10, 2019, 07:58:09 AM »
I'm new to a humid, rainy climate.  How on earth does one do it?  I can't leave the windows open at night--not even cracked, because storms pop up suddenly and everything gets drenched.  (Ask me how I know.)  But I'm losing all that cooler night air with my windows shut tight. Am I missing something?  (And yes, we do have frequent, fairly sudden rain storms.  I can open a few windows when we are home and awake because I can shut them quickly and mop up any water on the wood floors that may sneak in before it has time to sit. But once we go to bed, it seems I have to close everything up.

Does your house come with sufficient eaves? My experience is that the rainier parts of the U.S. have low correlation with the windier parts of the U.S., so eaves are generally sufficient to allow for open windows at night without the threat of water intrusion. (Partial source: Growing up in Miami without AC, in which open windows were a necessity.)

No.  We have basically no eaves.  Water definitely comes in when it rains.  We learned that very quickly our second night in the home. 

As it turns out, water also comes in to the basement--6"!!!!--when it rains a lot.

You can put awnings over the windows you benefit most from keeping open.

If they are double hung windows, you can open them from the top instead and they will be that much less likely to allow water in.

Bonus is that they'll keep heat out too esp. on the west and south side of the house (assuming you're in the northern hemisphere)

GuitarStv

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #101 on: July 10, 2019, 08:30:13 AM »
As it turns out, water also comes in to the basement--6"!!!!--when it rains a lot.

What you're referring to as a basement sounds like it may actually be an old well.  :P

Villanelle

• Walrus Stache