Author Topic: Sugar Ants!  (Read 8441 times)

Patrick A

• Stubble
Sugar Ants!
« on: June 24, 2014, 08:30:35 AM »
We keep our counters & kitchen extremely clean, but still seem to get a handful of sugar ants exploring the countertops every day.  No large groups or anything, just one at a time. 

It isn't a huge problem, as I have had real ant problems before in other houses -- but I'm looking for simple ways to solve the problem.  This is in a rental townhouse, it is very well kept up but was built in the 1970's. 

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Sugar Ants!
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2014, 09:12:55 AM »
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

Nords

• Magnum Stache
    • Military Retirement & Financial Independence blog
« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2014, 09:54:43 AM »
No large groups or anything, just one at a time. 
Scouts.  The problem is that the nest is still full of growing & exploring ants, so they're always looking around no matter how clean hour kitchen is.  The trick is to kill enough of the nest that the scouts don't get over to your part of the territory for a while.

You could set out a tasty snack for them-- a mix of 5% boric acid in sugary water.  It's also sold in Wal-Mart and some convenience stores as Terro ant bait.

You could even have the house sprayed for termites with Termidor, which also knocks down the ant population for several months.

geekette

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2014, 09:57:17 AM »
We've had off and on problems with tiny ants for decades.  I've had them swarm food I was reheating in the microwave - while it was running!  :: shudders ::