Author Topic: Running Natural Gas in PEX for a stove?  (Read 49977 times)

S0VERE1GN

• Stubble
Running Natural Gas in PEX for a stove?
« on: May 01, 2014, 06:27:47 AM »
Hey all,

so, I'm completely new to plumbing, and Ive read up about it (time invested, 7 minutes) a little so I understand the general ideas behind plumbing and so forth.

Now, I have two jobs in my house I want to tackle soon

1) run electrical and piping for the dishwasher
2) run natural gas piping for our new stove.

I haven't been able to find a whole lot about running natural gas lines in your home, safety concerns, checking for leaks etc. and so I was hoping you all could give me a resource, or just some general tips before I go blowing my house apart.

Thanks!

Greg

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Running Natural Gas in PEX for a stove?
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2014, 08:16:38 AM »
Gas is usually run in cast iron black pipe.  Using pipe dope at the joints, you assemble the line with the joints that screw together as needed.  Use pipe wrenches to get them very tight.  You test by pressurizing the line with something with a shraeder valve and gauge on it.  It has to hold a certain pressure for a certain time, like 15 psi for an hour.  You can also check for leaks at every joint using soapy water to look for bubbles.  Overall this is the DIY way.

This is a pressure tester I would recommend, sometimes available at your local hardware store:
http://www.ronshomeandhardware.com/13-1891-0-To-15-PSI-Gas-Test-Gauge-p/665347.htm

Pros would probably use sheathed stainless flex line.  It's like the small flex lines that connect to appliances, but comes in rolls and is usually 3/4" thick.  It has a yellow pvc sheathing on it to protect it and identify it as a gas line.  The joints are a kind of compression fitting that uses rubber seals.  The end points are brass and stainless fittings.  If you know a plumber who will get it for you, this is the better way to go.