Author Topic: Removing a load bearing wall?  (Read 18838 times)

pekklemafia

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Removing a load bearing wall?
« on: June 11, 2016, 09:21:13 PM »
Hi world,
We just bought a house (yikes), and are very excited about having our own digs and being able to make it our own. It's totally 60s style though with the layout. There is a wall that separates the kitchen and living room and we plan to blow it out. It doesn't seem too terribly difficult (according to my partner, the handy one), but it is a load bearing wall and we would need to put in a beam. Does anyone have any experience with this (esp DIY)? Any tips? Will our roof cave in on us?

chemistk

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Removing a load bearing wall?
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2016, 05:02:50 AM »
I'm no expert, just one who likes to watch a lot of HGTV (on demand of course). Check out this article I found that shows a pretty comprehensive look into what's needed.

http://www.familyhandyman.com/walls/how-to-install-a-loadbearing-beam/view-all

Basically it takes a lot of planning and the help of a structural engineer to get it up properly.

Spork

• Walrus Stache
    • Spork In The Eye
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2016, 08:31:44 AM »
I am mostly posting to follow.

I've done a few repairs on load bearing walls that required temporary walls to hold it up.  I've pulled out non-load bearing walls.  And I've taken out load bearing walls in my workshop by just googling and best-guessing the beam size.  (I wouldn't do that in my house.)

I am told a good lumberyard will greatly help you size a beam.  Whether you need an engineer for code compliance in your municipality or not is left to your own research.

You'll minimally have to build some structure to hold the ceiling/roof/upper floors temporarily.  If you're inside the city limits you're likely to be required to get a permit.  (Whether you do or not is up to your own judgment.)

Uturn

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #3 on: June 12, 2016, 11:58:29 AM »