Author Topic: Prius mileage plummeted  (Read 4063 times)

Travis

• Magnum Stache
Prius mileage plummeted
« on: July 22, 2017, 09:59:15 PM »
I've been driving my 2008 Prius for two years and I get 45-48mpg consistently.  It drops to the low 40s during winter, but besides that I've had no major hiccups.  I had an oil change and tire rotation 3 weeks ago. I drove from Sacramento to Phoenix with no drop in fuel economy. A couple weeks ago upon arrival here in Arizona I filled up the tank and as soon as we left the gas station my mileage dropped to the mid-30s.  I'm near the end of that tank and I'm holding at 37mpg with a mixture of city and highway driving.  Any ideas what might have caused the drop?  With the high heat I assume it's not the tire pressure, and I haven't noticed any changes to the car.  If this next tank of gas does the same thing I was going to take it into a Toyota dealership, but I wanted to run it past you all first.

Thinkum

• Pencil Stache
  • Life is Good
Re: Prius mileage plummeted
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2017, 10:19:09 PM »
If I remember correctly, that is a sign your hybrid battery is going bad. Have you asked or poked around on Prius chat? I replaced my battery in Gen II and while I didn't get 37, I did dip down to 40mpg or so. Then I noticed it was not charging up as quickly. If you go onto Prius chat, there is a FAQ and you can run a simple diagnostic yourself using the cars display to show the life of the battery. Good luck.

WSUCoug1994

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2017, 01:53:03 PM »
Does the increase in AC use have an impact? 

trammatic

• Stubble
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2017, 12:07:59 PM »
Could you accidentally have filled up on a higher-percentage ethanol fuel?  E-85 or E-100 will get significantly worse fuel economy.  I'd try a different station next time and see if it recovers.

dandarc

• Walrus Stache
  • Pronouns: he/him/his
« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2017, 01:09:20 PM »