Author Topic: painting kitchen cabinets, want a professional look  (Read 15189 times)

Transmatic

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
painting kitchen cabinets, want a professional look
« on: June 07, 2014, 05:33:40 PM »
Wife and I bought a fixer upper 18 months ago. Our home hasn't been updated since the 80's but we have done TONS of updating since we moved in (lay tile in both all 3 bathrooms, paint ever single room, paint all trim, doors and baseboards, etc).

Next on my list is the kitchen cabinets. I have a lot of hours and experience as a painter, even a full summer in college. However, I want to get the most professional look possible when I paint our kitchen cabinets white. Looking for reccomendations as to which technique will give me the best finished look. Use a fine brush, roller, or a spray gun (borrowed from a buddy)? I'm aware of the prep work of deglossing etc. but I want to ensure the paint looks good and doesn't stick to itself when the cabinet doors close and peel paint off.

oldladystache

• Pencil Stache
Re: painting kitchen cabinets, want a professional look
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2014, 05:40:11 PM »
I love the look of wood cabinets. If they were mine I wouldn't let you paint them. But they aren't mine, so whatever.

Frankies Girl

• Magnum Stache
  • Ghouls Just Wanna Have Funds!
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2014, 07:02:28 PM »
Your cabinets actually look pretty nice. If it was me, I'd ditch the awful knobs/pulls that are on the lower ones for something more updated and just give them a good cleaning with a degreaser (or Murphy's if it's not too bad buildup) and then do a wipedown with orange oil.

http://www.apartmenttherapy.com/how-to-quickly-154404

But painting them, if done well, can look good too. I saw this a while back and bookmarked it as I have crappy orangy/yellow "oak" builder grade cabinets and do plan on either painting or replacing as the color is hideous. ;)

http://www.thefrugalgirl.com/2014/05/how-to-paint-kitchen-cabinets/

Transmatic