Author Topic: Outlet measuring 137Vac. Something to get checked out?  (Read 3899 times)

forummm

• Walrus Stache
  • Senior Mustachian
Outlet measuring 137Vac. Something to get checked out?
« on: July 26, 2016, 11:59:09 AM »
We had a power outage (8 hours) following a thunderstorm. There was a loud bang nearby and we had a power surge (DW's computer shocked her). Some fans sound louder now (e.g. the microwave and refrigerator). And there's a buzz on a subwoofer. And our higher speed electric car charging station isn't working. I checked the voltage and noticed it was 137Vac for 120V outlets. I verified this at the breaker box. Is this something to be worried about? I called the power company and they said they'd have an engineer call me in a few days.

Sibley

• Walrus Stache
Re: Outlet measuring 137Vac. Something to get checked out?
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2016, 12:18:44 PM »
Well, I'm not an electrician. But it sounds like the surge caused a lot of damage. Not being an electrician, I'd assume that there's something seriously wrong and cut power to the house before getting someone out to check everything ASAP.

However, I'm not an electrician, and I don't understand and I know it, so I'm going to be very conservative.

Spork

• Walrus Stache
    • Spork In The Eye
« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2016, 12:22:24 PM »
IANAE... but that seems a little high to me.  I have graphs going back to 2012 and have never seen above about 126v (but it only measures once every 5 minutes... not continuously).  The "tough to burn out" incandescent bulbs are 130v.

And good luck.  We have a TON of little spikes and drop outs.  We've had the electric company out twice to put recording meters on.  Neither time would they even tell us the results of their tests.  But I sure have had a lot of circuit boards burn out.  I've learned to have all computer equipment on UPS and have a whole house surge as well as little surge plugs on pretty much every 120v appliance.

forummm

• Walrus Stache