Author Topic: OTA Antenna install issue for free TV  (Read 3669 times)

Southpaw77

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
OTA Antenna install issue for free TV
« on: August 24, 2017, 09:16:49 AM »
Hey everyone. I've broken up with Direct TV and I'm installing an OTA antenna on my roof.  I'm trying to utilize the old DTV cable but have run into a problem.  The old DTV cable that I want to use was cut and I need to connect it to a coax cable to connect to the antenna.  The old cable is a type that has a ground wire integrated into it.  How do I utilize that ground when connecting to the new coax cable that connects to the antenna? Normally, I assume you would take that wire and ground it to the antenna but with the needed coax extension it's not possible.  Would a grounding block at that connection point work even though it's not connected directly to the antenna?  Anyway, sorry if this might be a dumb question...I'm fairly new to the DIY world :-) Thanks!! 

trammatic

• Stubble
Re: OTA Antenna install issue for free TV
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2017, 09:53:01 AM »
The typical small-wire grounding for outdoor antennae is to get rid of static build-up.  A grounding block hooked up to a ground will do the same thing.  You can use your house ground, or another grounding rod, or a metal water pipe, but you typically want to ground it before it the signal enters your house.

(That 18AWG wire isn't going to protect against lightning strikes at all--the dish and TV will still get fried.  Look up connectors for lightening rods for the materials used...)

One other thing: radio/tv waves penetrate wood framing fairly well, although there is some signal loss.  At my folks house near Los Angeles, they can put the antenna in the attic and still pull in all the channels they want.  Depending on how close you are to the broadcast tower, that might be an option for you, and it could hide the antenna and protect it from the weather.  I'd still ground the attic antenna.

GenXbiker

• Bristles