Author Topic: Motorcycle Tilts To The Right  (Read 8407 times)

urover

• Stubble
Motorcycle Tilts To The Right
« on: July 11, 2013, 11:58:56 AM »
I've a cheap motorcycle (works as a 'scooter' for those accustomed to that word) that I've been riding for about 9 years now. I've owned and sold two cars in between but the motorcycle continues. Recently, I made the mistake of handing over the bike to the dealer for service and he messed it up. The fork cone set was replaced and fork trued, but after the truing I now notice that the bike tilts to the right. No, it won't pull to the right if I leave the handles while riding, but it tilts at an angle when riding. At 0kmph, it looks perfectly alright. The new front tire also seems to be wearing away more on the right.

I let several mechanics take a look at it but none of them appear to have the sensitivity to detect minute changes in the ride. I can afford to buy a new motorcycle but I don't want to, although my current one has been a cry baby of late. The reason is that the engine still sounds sweet and has atleast another 2-3 years of life in it. I have no other problems with it either.

So, what could it be? Could it be unequally filled fork oil? Could it be my rear suspension dying (possibly not, because the rear tire shows no signs of uneven wear)? Could it be a bent down tube? Bad wheel alignment (already had it checked with several mechanics)? Please help.

ncornilsen

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Motorcycle Tilts To The Right
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2013, 08:37:26 AM »
Is it the handle bars that're tweaked to the right, or the whole bike is leaning? 

I don't know what kind of bike you have, or what adjustments it has... but check the following:
-That each of the forks is even in the triple. (Ie, same hieght)
-That the tripled wasn't assembled "Twisted."
-that each of the spring preload adjusters are equal.