Author Topic: Laundry detergent  (Read 17992 times)

rusty

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
    • My Medigap Consultant
Laundry detergent
« on: January 07, 2013, 06:29:30 AM »
We recently ran out of laundry detergent and I went to the store to pick some up.  As an engineer, I am always running the numbers of price/unit in my head at the store.   We have always used dry detergent (powder) and what caught my eye was the number of loads you can do with some of the liquid detergents.  Many of the liquid detergents bottles had 64 loads, where as the dry detergents listed only 32 loads.  Yet the pricing on the liquid was slightly lower than what was listed on the dry detergent.  Curious if anyone else had noticed this?

Admittedly, I did not analyze the recommneded load size per brand, but I purchased the liquid to try it out.

herisff

• Stubble
Re: Laundry detergent
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2013, 06:47:45 AM »
One of the differences is the amount of detergent used per load.

On a side note - the amount of detergent per load that is recommended on the container is usually much more than I need. I often use a tablespoon or less per load and still have great results. YMMV of course, depending on the amount of dirt in the load.

Kriegsspiel

« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2013, 05:26:09 PM »
I just got some washing soda and borax to make my own detergent, I'll let you know how it goes.

MsSindy

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2013, 05:34:21 PM »