Author Topic: Installing an HVAC unit and furnace  (Read 2476 times)

clark77494

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Installing an HVAC unit and furnace
« on: March 20, 2017, 08:32:33 PM »
I just purchased a 40 year old house and it has the original HVAC system and Furnace. Before I was a Real Estate investor I worked as an HP certified printer tech so I have the electrical skills and mechanical skills. Is there a book I can purchase that will teach me how to hookup a new HVAC unit and Furnace? The unit I want will cost around $3,000 for furnace, Evaporator coil, and compressor. (4 ton unit). The installation would cost me $4,000 for 2 people for half a day. I can't justify paying $4,000 for 8 man hours of labor. $500 per hour for labor. My doctor doesn't even charge that much!
Clark,

Jon Bon

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Installing an HVAC unit and furnace
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2017, 08:06:14 AM »
Woah, get a few different estimates. I can get an entirely new HVAC system install for $4000. So $3000 for the materials and $1000 for the labor. Tell that installer to take a hike!

Also 4 tons is a lot of HVAC, how big of a house are we talking here?

I mean MMM put in a furnace no issue, the AC might need more specialized tools. I would consider a furnace, but Freon is expensive and I would not want to mess with it.

threefive

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2017, 10:08:51 AM »
I just purchased a 40 year old house and it has the original HVAC system and Furnace. Before I was a Real Estate investor I worked as an HP certified printer tech so I have the electrical skills and mechanical skills. Is there a book I can purchase that will teach me how to hookup a new HVAC unit and Furnace? The unit I want will cost around $3,000 for furnace, Evaporator coil, and compressor. (4 ton unit). The installation would cost me $4,000 for 2 people for half a day. I can't justify paying $4,000 for 8 man hours of labor. $500 per hour for labor. My doctor doesn't even charge that much!
Clark,