Author Topic: how to DIY roof eve rot repair?  (Read 3885 times)

vwDavid

• Stubble
how to DIY roof eve rot repair?
« on: October 11, 2018, 06:49:13 PM »
Hi All, not sure what to call this - I guess its the end trim plate on the roof. House is 12 years old and this small bit shows excessive rot from PNW moisture.

What are my options for

a) arresting deterioration (if its an option)
b) fixing the problem

it seems to me that that entire 8-10 foot board will need to be removed off the house, but how is it tied in? It looks like the plastic soffit holders are probably attached to it?

Will this be a major pita? How can I badass this without having to hire a 'professional'

I am not a professional, but a jack of all trades...

lthenderson

• Handlebar Stache
Re: how to DIY roof eve rot repair?
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2018, 06:47:51 AM »
It's hard to diagnose with the pictures you attached. It could be a fascia board but it could also be a beam with lots of structure tied into it. The latter would be worse case to replace. Even if it is a fascia board, I would guess your shingles are nailed to it which will make it fall in the PIA category to replace. It would be helpful to show some pictures from underneath and showing the beam in relation to the rest of the roof's structure.

Jon Bon

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2018, 08:28:03 AM »
This one is hard to say.... obviously that is way to much rot, heck any rot is too much on things that are supposed to be covered from the weather. So you have a leak.

From the pictures.... The rotted section it does not look load bearing, just the rafter cantilevered out over the house to create an eve? If it is truly not load bearing I would just pay a guy $200 to wrap it in aluminum.  matter of fact I would check the other corners of my house and probably have him do those too! If that is the rafter for the side of your house, I dont think replacing it is even feasible.

Good luck.

index

• Pencil Stache