Author Topic: Help me figure out what's happening to my pumpkin plants?  (Read 2950 times)

yodella

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Help me figure out what's happening to my pumpkin plants?
« on: July 14, 2017, 08:57:44 AM »
Hello, I am a novice gardener in the Midwest and I planted a pumpkin patch this spring with 16 plants. The plants are mostly doing well, but I've started to notice two issues:

1. A black, bumpy, mold-type thing growing on some parts of a few plants, and on the surrounding mulch.

2. Strange light spots near the veins in some leaves on 3 or so plants.

I tried spraying the black stuff with a fungicide a couple days ago, but it doesn't seem to have made much of a difference. I've also been using liquid fence to keep away the deer and rabbits, and spraying the leaves with a water/milk solution once a week to guard against powdery mildew. Also, it's been extremely rainy here the last couple of weeks, not sure if that's a factor.

Does anyone have any idea what these two problems are, or how to treat them?

Thank you!

http://imgur.com/9kQTsNo

http://imgur.com/KLC7M7B

http://imgur.com/wbBUyG0

http://imgur.com/18cRTvY

http://imgur.com/lzyzj3e
« Last Edit: July 14, 2017, 09:01:09 AM by yodella »

gardeningandgreen

• Bristles
    • Gardening and Green
Re: Help me figure out what's happening to my pumpkin plants?
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2017, 09:02:06 AM »
Its kind of hard to see in the pictures but could it be some sort of insect eggs? I would try to keep the area a little dryer if it is some sort of mold or mildew. Possibly moving some of the much out and putting it in a sunny warm area to dry well. Good luck! Garden problems are always fun!

lthenderson

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2017, 11:53:27 AM »