Author Topic: Harvesting fallen oak tree  (Read 6981 times)

$200k

• Stubble
Harvesting fallen oak tree
« on: August 30, 2017, 04:04:28 PM »
Hi there:

I am a newbie wood worker.  Recently, a 50-60 foot oak tree fell on my property, the base of the trunk measures somewhere around 18".  I will need to chainsaw the tree to restore my yard.  I can't and don't want to use the logs as firewood.

I've seen videos on people milling their own lumber for various non-professional DIY projects and I would like to do the same.  I saw in a 5 minute youtube video that the woods needs to season for roughly a year or so.

Has anyone else harvested their own lumber for DIY projects?  Any tips or resources you can offer?

Uturn

• Pencil Stache
Re: Harvesting fallen oak tree
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2017, 04:10:43 PM »
I have no personal experience, but this guy's channel has tons of information.  Go to older videos where he used a chain saw mill before building his bandsaw mill.

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCDpL0v-Ifie7u05lbfO3zJQ

Papa bear

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2017, 04:17:57 PM »
My buddy is milling wood from a huge maple that he cut down in his yard. 

He has a large outbuilding and built a "mill" with a band saw.  While it looks cool and he's going to get a lot of wood, his texts have been:

- Words of wisdom for you... Don't quit your job to take up milling lumber. It's not all it's cracked up to be! :)

- Not easy. Maybe with the right equipment but I spent probably 6 hrs trying to get it set up. At the end it got a little easier, hoping for some good cuts tomorrow

- So much work!

He's about 1/8 done... not sure he'll be doing this again. And he works 7 on 7 off so he has time to do this.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

affordablehousing

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2017, 10:38:59 AM »