Author Topic: DIY Touching Up Roots (of hair, obvi)  (Read 3828 times)

englishteacheralex

• Magnum Stache
DIY Touching Up Roots (of hair, obvi)
« on: August 31, 2019, 07:46:48 PM »
I'm almost 40, female, and have been going grey since I was 25. I'm still not ready to embrace it, so I've been dying my hair for fifteen years or so. I keep it to my original natural color and my go-to box dye is Revlon ColorSilk in Light Ash Brown, which goes on sale periodically at Target for $3-$4.

I do this about once every three months or so, and I've always liked the results. Here's my process:

1. I like working on 3rd day hair--somebody told me dirty hair takes color better.
2. I brush my hair all out--it's naturally curly so this is something I almost never do.
3. I part it down the middle, throw down a big line of the coloring potion, and then use a medium sized makeup brush to paint it all in to the left and right of the part.
4. Then I take a wide toothed comb and brush the potion down both sides of the part so that it kinda goes into all the hair around it naturally.
5. I work through my entire crown, parting, dying, painting, combing, parting, dying, painting, combing--the grey is pretty intense at the front of my hair and nonexistent at the back, which I totally ignore during this process because the box dye color is a great match to the natural back of my hair.
6. Swab the hairline with a makeup removing cloth to nab any stray potion that got on my skin, go and sit for 45 minutes, and then rinse out and deep condition.

Always looks a little weird (kinda too dark, but nothing embarrassing) for the first three days and then calms down after a wash or two and looks great for six weeks until the grey starts coming back and I have to do it over again.