Author Topic: DIY Railroad Crossing Signal With Arm  (Read 8467 times)

vulgar_girl

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
DIY Railroad Crossing Signal With Arm
« on: November 19, 2014, 02:46:28 PM »
I have a young son who is infatuated with railroad crossings.  We spent about 1 hour waiting for the train to loop around at the zoo the other day just so he could watch the signal go off.  I have decided that I want to build him a working 3-4 foot tall signal with a motion activated arm that will raise and lower for the end of the hallway in my apartment.  I have some ideas about the sign.  I am leaning towards using spray painted PVC for the posts and led brake lights for the signal lights.  What I am struggling with is the arm.  Anyone have any ideas about what kind of motor I should get and how can I make it motion activated?  I would also like a realistic sounding bell, but am coming up short on ideas.  Any suggestions are appreciated.  FYI, I have no electrical wiring experience, so this will be a fun learning experience for me too.

The only "toy" I could find was overpriced in my opinion, and sounded really loud in the video.
http://www.amazon.com/Pavlovz-Toyz-Talking-Railroad-Crossing/dp/B001JNCKJ6/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1416433298&sr=8-1&keywords=railroad+signal+arm

Edit: So I have been reading up a bit and realize that this is not going to be as easy as I thought...  I am still intending on building this thing though.  I like a challenge!
« Last Edit: November 20, 2014, 01:29:08 PM by vulgar_girl »

gotaholen1

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: DIY Railroad Crossing Signal With Arm
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2014, 01:20:05 PM »
You could probably run something like this from an arduino. 

Check out this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sOz41WQF7wE

projekt

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2014, 11:17:05 AM »
A great way to get started with electronics is the TI MSP430 Launchpad.

http://www.ti.com/tool/msp-exp430g2