Author Topic: Considering re-doing my own bathroom... How bad of an idea is this?  (Read 3695 times)

Home Stretch

• Stubble
I have zero experience in most of the things I would need to do, which include:
  • Demo work - removing tile from floor, shower area, and removal of separate jacuzzi tub
  • Demo of small (6") stubs of sheetrock wall surrounding shower door (obviously non-load bearing)
  • Laying new tile on all places where it has been removed, including area where old tub was
  • removal and installation of new shower fixtures in same location as old ones
  • Installation of new free-standing/claw-foot style tub and associated plumbing
  • Installation of full glass shower surround (going to outsource this part for sure)
  • Remove/re-install existing toilet (already replaced old toilet, so at least I know how to do this part)

Sink area is in a segregated space from the shower/bath/toilet. I might tackle that later later but it doesn't look as dated and can certainly be done as a separate project. We also have a separate full bath that can be used during this project, so if it drags on for a month, it's not going to cause any problems.

What tools will I need, beyond the basics and the following list?
  • Belt sander (not sure about this one?)
  • Tile cutter
  • Miter saw (can I cut tile with this?)
  • Pipe wrenches

Does anyone have any recommendations for particularly good YouTube videos on this topic? I seem to be finding very different levels of quality and information between similar videos.

Generally, am I going to be in way over my head? What should I expect to spend on this kind of project? All of the local contractors don't seem to want to touch a bathroom renovation for less than $15,000, and I can't wrap my head around how a new tub, some tile, and a custom glass shower surround would come anywhere near that, even paying completely fair prices for labor. I think they just don't want to waste time on small-fish projects.

Sibley