Author Topic: Can I put clip-top bottles in a water bath canner?  (Read 8595 times)

shelivesthedream

• Walrus Stache
Can I put clip-top bottles in a water bath canner?
« on: August 07, 2017, 02:26:05 AM »
I'm fairly new to canning but have been reading this site (www.healthycanning.com) and feel confident enough to have a go and try to can some concentrated blackberry juice/cordial. However, can I put these bottles (https://media.domu.co.uk/catalog/product/cache/1/thumbnail/800x/9df78eab33525d08d6e5fb8d27136e95/v/o/vonshef_6pc_set_500ml_glass_clip_top_bottles_6.jpg) in a water bath canner as long as the water is deep enough to cover the top? They're not likely to explode, right??

Snow

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Can I put clip-top bottles in a water bath canner?
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2017, 03:24:20 AM »
Short answer: Yes. They should absolutely be safe to use. If you are nervous, don't fill the bottles all the way up, but leave some headspace for the air to expand into. I have never had a problem with any jar or bottle exploding.

Long answer:
The good thing about clip tops (jars and bottles), is that although they keep outside air from coming in, they are not actually air tight. Ideally, the rubber gasket should work as a buffer when you do CO2-producing things like fermentation and in theory, it should let some air out if the pressure is too high.

I must admit, I have had varying degrees of luck with this. I find my sauerkraut (and esp. fermented onions which hubby loves) still works up quite the pressure, and I always take care when opening them. You can also pull a little on the rubber gasket without opening the lid, and excess pressure should escape without ruining the seal.