Author Topic: Beginniner woodworking: where to start?  (Read 10067 times)

grandep

• Stubble
Beginniner woodworking: where to start?
« on: December 13, 2017, 03:01:14 PM »
Hello all! This is my first time to the DIY forums. I want to start doing my own woodworking projects and eventually start building furniture, i.e. desks, tables, benches, cabinets, shelves, etc. However, I have very little woodworking experience (I took wood shop in high school and have used a saw a handful of times) and am looking for a good way to get into it.

Obviously finding someone who is willing to teach me in person would be ideal, but in the meantime do you guys have any recommendations on books, blogs, or websites that are good for beginning woodworkers?

Thanks!

J_Stache

• Stubble
Re: Beginniner woodworking: where to start?
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2017, 03:08:35 PM »
Woodworking can range from Mustachian to Anti-Mustachian, depending on the wood you use and the tools you use.  YouTube is a great reference.  I'd recommend taking a look at some of the people below and branching off from there:
The Wood Whisperer (Mark Spagnolo)
Matt Cremona
April Wilkerson
DIY Tyler
Jay Bates

A bunch of different styles and levels of tools there, but should give you a good start. 

lthenderson

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2017, 03:28:52 PM »