Author Topic: Success even after self-destruction: A criticism  (Read 117128 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Success even after self-destruction: A criticism
« Reply #100 on: June 13, 2015, 07:57:30 PM »
Oh boy what a thread.

If you are privileged, make the most of it.  Don't waste it.  Recognize that you are privileged.

If you are not privileged, you'll have to work even harder.  But that's about all you can do, because you didn't choose that circumstance.  No one is going to give you anything.  So make the most of what you can.

Either way, hard work and optimism is the way to go.  But yes, the majority who "make it" will be privileged.  It certainly helps.  But it doesn't help the individual either way, they are or aren't, but still need to do what they can.

I'm ridiculously privileged and lucky.  But I also had to do some work.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

actualethan

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #101 on: June 13, 2015, 08:32:04 PM »
Oh boy what a thread.

If you are privileged, make the most of it.  Don't waste it.  Recognize that you are privileged.

If you are not privileged, you'll have to work even harder.  But that's about all you can do, because you didn't choose that circumstance.  No one is going to give you anything.  So make the most of what you can.

Either way, hard work and optimism is the way to go.  But yes, the majority who "make it" will be privileged.  It certainly helps.  But it doesn't help the individual either way, they are or aren't, but still need to do what they can.

THIS.