Author Topic: Citizen of Canada; resident of nowhere - what to say at immigration checks?  (Read 18062 times)

Twilight

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I'm hoping that someone can give me a solution to an ever-increasing problem. Going through some immigration checkpoints is becoming an ever-increasing nightmare.

I'm a Canadian citizen, a single female and a senior citizen.

I left Canada in 1997, went to China and became a non-resident for tax purposes.
Spent 12 years in China - as a resident, with proof of residence).
Then in Jordan, nearly 3 years - as a resident, with proof of residence.

In mid-2012, left Jordan and went to UK to visit family, but by then my Jordanian residency had expired, and I had no intention of renewing it.

Going through UK immigration was nothing short of a nightmare!

UK immigration clerk: What country are you normally resident in?
Me: I'm a citizen of Canada, but right now, I'm a resident of nowhere.
UK immigration clerk: Get over to that bench now!!! Do not leave! Do not talk to anyone! Do not use your cell phone! [Then she stormed off to get her supervisor.]
Me: [Immediately got out my phone to ring my son waiting in the arrivals hall.]
UK immigration clerk [turning around, shrieking at the top of her voice]:
I TOLD YOU NOT TO USE YOUR CELL PHONE!!!

Supervisor: What makes you think you can enter the UK just because your sons live here? Well???
Me: Have you immigration people here at the airport ever heard the term 'courtesy'? How about even 'common sense'?

After nearly 40 minutes, I was 'released', but not before a notation had been written in my passport.