Author Topic: A Day In The Life of my Supposedly Frugal Stomach  (Read 16879 times)

dcheesi

• Handlebar Stache
A Day In The Life of my Supposedly Frugal Stomach
« on: May 17, 2018, 08:22:07 AM »
No love for this one yet? I suppose the topic is already covered in threads like this one, but this post and MMM's diet approach in particular really resonated with me, so I wanted to post my thoughts.

Even though I'm very much a "live to eat" person, I'm also an engineer with a need to watch his wallet and waistline. So during the work-week, I follow an "optimized" plan that echoes MMM's in a lot of ways, including the avoidance of carbs in the morning. I also try to avoid combining foods that might neutralize each others' health benefits (e.g., dairy protein binds up a lot of good plant compounds, including the ones in coffee).

Here's what I've been doing most days:
  • "Breakfast": black coffee (I'm slow to wake up, and so is my stomach, so I don't really need calories this early)
  • Mid-morning: more black coffee (sometimes decaf), with a handful of unsalted deluxe mixed nuts (Sam's Club or Aldi bulk containers)
  • Lunch: cup of yogurt, preferably no-sugar-added Greek-style
  • Afternoon: fruit (lately a lot of dried berries for convenience; they have added sugar, but I don't eat a full serving so it's not enough to worry about)
  • Dinner: free-play (this is usually my larger "real" meal for the day)

Now, two issues immediately pop out here:
  • There are no veggies in this list, so it's all dependent on my dinner choices to get that in
  • Lunch is a little on the "light" side in terms of bulk, even though the dairy protein is enough to satisfy me metabolically