Author Topic: Where did it all go, and where am I headed?  (Read 10832 times)

ImReadyShesNot

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Where did it all go, and where am I headed?
« on: April 12, 2018, 09:30:42 AM »
Topic Title: Where did it all go, and where am I headed?

Life Situation: Married (Me-35, Her-33, 2 little ones(5,6), and a MIL)
From 2005 to 2011, we grossed approximately $30k to $60k a year together, and lived paycheck to paycheck, she got a degree during this time, and started her first real job.  I worked in a warehouse.
2012, We started saving money because of a promotion at work and we had “extra” money for the first time.  Gross is ~$75
2013-2015, lifestyle inflation, spend it as fast as we make it.  Gross was $75k-$90k
Late 2016-Mid 2017, opportunity for a promotion results in a costly move, house upgrade, 6 months of unemployment for the wife and finally ends with our current situation and salaries

Gross Salary/Wages:
My Salary-$101,300
My Possible Bonus - $20,260
My Possible Stock - $11,000
Her - $41,000
MIL pays $500 monthly to live with us

Individual amounts of each Pre-tax deductions
I was contributing 8% to 401k, but just raised to 10% to coincide with my annual raise.  I get 100% match up to 5% contribution.
I don’t fully understand my wife’s state retirement plan/contributions and need to figure it out.  She just started this job in the last year.  She also pays for our health insurance now.

Other Ordinary Income: My wife’s mom contributes $500 a month, which we use towards the house payment.  She moved with us from one state to another, and the cost of living is higher here, than where we used to live.  She wouldn’t be able to find a nice apartment near us, for what she used to pay.  We spent $16k when we moved, to build a MIL suite in our new home’s basement for her.

Qualified Dividends & Long Term Capital Gains:  I’ve been getting RSU’s that vest 33% a year, for the past 3 years.  I’ve sold the stock each time it vests,

Adjusted Gross Income: