Author Topic: What Should I do I may have to FIRE now that I have been fired?  (Read 4654 times)

leebuckeye

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
What Should I do I may have to FIRE now that I have been fired?
« on: January 10, 2018, 09:22:59 PM »
Looking for advice about my life in general. This is going to be long and somewhat soul searching. All advice is appreciated.
I am 37, single and living in central OH.
I was terminated from my job as a software engineer that paid about 80k a year this past November.
I got 20k in (severance+vacation pay out).
I have about 14 years of work experience 12 of which were at the last job. I used to love the job but with bad bosses I reached a point of dreading going into work and I think when the new boss came he didn't think I was a good performer. I could have transferred to another dept possibly but ended up taking severance (they wanted to move me to a less lead role as they didn't think I was a good lead). I felt free after they let me go.
I saved about $350k in 401k. About $100k in traditional IRA and about $350k in a Roth IRA. So about 850k in retirement accounts.
I owe about 30k in student loans (2%) and a 2k car loan.