Author Topic: What more do I need to do/should I do?  (Read 4350 times)

s0198362

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
What more do I need to do/should I do?
« on: July 25, 2020, 04:20:48 PM »
Firstly, I know I am in a very fortunate position right now financially.  There are people out there (and on this forum) in vastly different and difficult circumstances.  So this is not a sob story, just my personal situation that I am looking for guidance with.

Topic Title: What more should I do/do I need to do?

Life Situation: Married filing jointly (both late 30’s), 1 dependent (1 yr).  Live in Georgia, USA.  I am an expat immigrant from the UK.  Been here 7 years, don’t expect full social security for myself, my wife should though. I am a chemist, she is an ICU nurse.

New to FIRE and only just took the plunge with going for a HSA (this year).  Maxing it out and paying out of pocket for health expenses.  Refinanced mortgage (see below) to allow us to max out Roth IRAs.

Want to retire early (obviously).  Aiming for 15 years time.

Gross Salary/Wages: $170,000 + bonus but not guaranteed

Individual amounts of each Pre-tax deductions
My 401k (16%):   19,200 50:50 spilt between Roth 401K and Trad 401k
Employer match (4 %):  4,800 (trad 401k)
Employer Pension Plan (8 %):  9,600
HSA:  $7,100 incl. $1,300 employer contribution
Dependent care FSA: $5,000
Roth IRA: $6,000 each p/a
Her 401K (12%): $6,000
Employer match (4%): $2,000

Taxes: 22% marginal rate federal, 5.75% marginal rate state.

Take Home Salary/Wages: $120,000

Current expenses:
We do spend quite a bit, but that is the lifestyle we want to have (expecting abuse here…).  Obviously later on in life some expenses will go away (mortgage, roth IRA contributions etc.).  W
We make most food from scratch, but do prefer organic so spend more here (kroger is our store).  We enjoy going out for food and drinks (once per week).  After all, we should enjoy life now as well as plan for retirement.