Author Topic: What am I doing wrong with my Finances?  (Read 8760 times)

Bevn182

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
What am I doing wrong with my Finances?
« on: February 03, 2017, 05:31:22 PM »
Hey everyone,

I am pretty new to Mr.Money Mustache website hence signing up here.I have a few questions to ask in terms of my finances.

Life Situation: I am a 26 year old female, living in Los Angeles,California.I graduated last year and I was able to find a job in my field unfortunately the pay is low but I am grateful for the work as its hard to find work in my field.I am pretty frugal to be able to live off my salary in an expensive city like LA.

Gross Salary/Wages: $35,360 , working in Public health (full time job).I have a side job that brings in $10 k a year.

Pre-tax deductions 401k: $100 per pay check(no employee match)

Adjusted Gross Income: $2200 monthly from full time job and about $776 from part time job

Current expenses
Rent   $445
Car Insurance   $41
Dining (Lunch/Dinner/Etc.)   $20
Utilities   $30 
Transportation   $80
Groceries   $60
Medical Insurance  $100 
Phone (cell)   $0 
Credit card $0 (paid in full every month)

Living Expenses total   $786

I have no phone bill as I rely on wifi alone. I started biking/public transportation to work as sitting in traffic was killing my mental well being.At the moment I cant move close to work as I have a pretty good living arrangement.

Assets:
$2k in 401k
$2k in liquid cash
Car is paid off worth $4k according to Kelly blue book

Liabilities:

Student Loans:
Direct Subsidized Stafford $4,301.87 3.150%
Direct Subsidized Stafford $5,317.75 3.610%
Direct Subsidized Stafford $2,629.98 4.040%
Direct Unsubsidized Stafford $3,032.32 4.040%
Direct Subsidized Stafford $4,383.25 4.410%

I started out with $31 k and I have paid it down to about 19k as of now.

Total Student Loan Payment:$224 minimum payment

Estimated Net Cash Flow per month towards student loans ~$2k/month

Specific Question(s):

1)What am I doing wrong with my finances?