Author Topic: To “Start Up”, stay with “the man”, and/or “Jump ship” completely?  (Read 2994 times)

ThrowAway1

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Summary:  I am a 5 year veteran at a large tech company.  I make excellent money with all the perks you hear about like free food, excellent 401K, massages, amazing affordable health care, etc. Unfortunately, I just can’t.seem.to.give.a.shit.about.the.work.  I am not motivated by it at all, can’t WILL myself anymore to caring about the mundane shit we constantly have meetings to discuss and really have fundamental issues with how our business is monetized.  To help cure the “dread”, I negotiated a 3 day work schedule at the big tech company and I joined a start up in a consultory role in a field that interest me about 2 years ago. I currently work there 1 day a week and generally put in 15 or so hours through some at home work.  I also put more time into building my rental property portfolio with my recaptured time.   That adjusted schedule worked for a couple of yes but fast forward to today and I am trying to decide what to do next, quit big tech and work at the start up (they have offered me a significant equity stake and the ability to work a 3 day shcedule), continue with my 3 days a week at big tech and just ride is out and keep adding to the stache or just downright pull the plug and “retire”.

Life Situation: DINK couple, 33, live in large US metro that is still affordable (all things considered).  No plans for kids

**All Figures are annualized

Gross Salary/Wages: 2017
Self: $155K (very steady - inc salary, equity vest, bonus) - Of this salary, $17K is from the start up since I am hourly and my hours vary annually.
SO: $0-$250K+ (variable but typically in the $100K range - trading) - Self employed, trader

Rental Income: Annual Net CashFlow $60K