Author Topic: Student Loans / Housing / Kids / Los Angeles  (Read 8509 times)

uneven_cyclist

• Stubble
Student Loans / Housing / Kids / Los Angeles
« on: May 03, 2019, 01:32:05 AM »
Hello forum, I am hoping to get your advice about what might be the best steps for me to take as I make financial / life plans with my wife and family in Los Angeles.

Our situation in a nutshell:
We are expecting a child in December
We live in LA in an $1800/month one-bedroom apartment. It's expensive here, but we have family in LA, so that's why we are here.
She is a school principal earning 90K; I am a manager at a retail store earning 40K.
She has a $115K student loan.
She probably has about 50K in retirement savings, I have about 20K.
I have another 12K in index funds/ETFs, she has roughly 5K in cash savings/emergency fund savings.
She has a Prius worth 9K, I have a Subaru Forester worth 6K, both paid off.  I would like to sell the cars and get a single electric vehicle, but have not done it yet.

Our goals:
1) Pay off her student loan
2) Buy a house
3) Get out of our apartment in the near future so that we have a bit more space for when our baby is born--whether that means buying a house, or moving temporarily to a larger apartment.
4) Save as much as possible and retire as soon as we can.