Author Topic: Stick it Out or Part time?  (Read 3191 times)

wageslave23

• Handlebar Stache
Stick it Out or Part time?
« on: December 28, 2017, 12:06:28 PM »
I currently have about $100,000 net worth and $20k in rental income coming in a year.  My yearly expenses are about $30k.  I'm a CPA but I also despise being one.  I think if I work for 7 more years I could lean fire in a low COLA.  My question is: Would it be best to just stick it out?  Look for a career that I like better but would probably pay less?  Or just work part time (maybe I would like accounting more if I was only working 3 days a week)?

My first instinct as a conservative accountant is to just work 7 years and hoard a bunch of money and then do WTF I want.  But I would probably ending looking for a part time job that I enjoy at that point anyway.  So why not do that now? 

Any thoughts from people who have faced the same decisions?

PS, I've also thought about buying a couple more rentals and living off the revenue.  But I live in Illinois and I think long term the home prices will decrease and demand for rentals will go down.

nurseart

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Stick it Out or Part time?
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2017, 04:04:23 PM »
I'm not in the same boat and this might not be the *right* MMM answer, but I don't think working in a career you honestly despise is a good game plan. If you said your job wasn't particularly fulfilling, that you weren't excited to go into the office every day, or that your boss was obnoxious that is one thing, but DESPISING doesn't sound healthy. Can you go to part-time to see if that helps and then go back if you wanted? Are there any jobs you are excited about or that would at least be *shrug* fine?

If you think home prices and rental demand will decrease in your area, don't buy more rentals.

wageslave23

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2017, 12:44:43 PM »