Author Topic: Starting out Behind the 8-Ball  (Read 4718 times)

overdrive23

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Starting out Behind the 8-Ball
« on: June 21, 2018, 10:59:34 AM »
Life Situation: MY wife & I have one child (another one sooner or later) and live in Florida. She works fulltime as a Physician Assistant. I work part time as an Engineer (3x a week)

Gross Salary/Wages: Just north of 200k.

Individual amounts of each Pre-tax deductions: Her (3+3% employee match) and I have a Roth IRA that I put $150/mo into and have since 2010.

Other Ordinary Income: Two Side Hustles (Me) are an Online Coffee (ecommerce) Company & FB Advertising Help for local fitness companies (just starting this as we I type) - Both of which have yet to provide any substantial income. I plan to give it till the end of the summer to get more stable.

Qualified Dividends & Long Term Capital Gains: 2018 we will have a 10-12k tax coming for the sale of my Gym this past year.

Adjusted Gross Income: 120-125 (went off an older number I had put together.

Taxes: Just moved to FL within the year so we're not 100% what to expect.

Current expenses: Car Loans (2 cars): 655/mo, CC Payments (2 cards and 1 line of credit) $1200/mo, CC Debt: 23k, Mortgage: 2500/mo (400k house, just bought 12mo ago), Daycare $640/mo, Student Loans $550/mo (35-38k left combined)

Assets:
  • Our House: Current Value: 360-370
    Savings: 3k
    Roth IRA: 12k
    Car 1 Value - 18k
    Car 2 Value - 8k

Liabilities:
  • Mortgage: 350k at 4.5%
    Car 1: 19k owed at 3.24%
    Car 2: 14k owed at 4%
    CC#1: 19,000 remain, 0%
    CC#2: 4,400 remain, 0%
    CC#3: 2500 remain, 12% (is a CC payoff account...a personal loan to condense and pay off faster)
    LOC: 6800 remain, 12,75%
    Wife Student Loans: Under 6k (wow!!) at 3-4%
    My Student Loans: 35k at 3% (should have stayed in state!)

Specific Question(s):