Author Topic: Reader Case Study – Investment Advice for Windfall  (Read 3753 times)

maneki-neko

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Reader Case Study – Investment Advice for Windfall
« on: September 14, 2017, 04:59:38 PM »
Life Situation: Single, living with S/O of 6.5 years. We have been talking about marriage in the next couple years, after we get out of debt. My S/O and I are both 25. No dependents. We live about 35 miles outside of Washington D.C. in a stupid high COL area. The average SFH in my area is $555,000. I am a video production contractor and she is a federal employee.

Our combined Gross Salary/Wages: $148,000, I make $93,000 and my S/O makes $55,000

Net income: $95,000 / $7,900 a month

Debt: (preparing for face punches)
Student loan: $5,500 @ 6.8%
Student loan: $975 @ 3.4%
Student loan: $675 @ 6.8%
S/O Student loan: $62,000 @ 6%
Honda Element: $5,200 @ 5.5%
Honda Civic: $5,000 @ 5.0%
Credit card: $3,900 @ 10%
Debt consolidation loan $14,300 @ 15.15%

Total Debt: ~$97,500.00. We made a lot of stupid financial decisions in college like taking out variable interest rate credit cards with up to 25% interest rates. We’re definitely paying for it now. My S/O went to a very expensive private school. I went there as well but fortunately I dropped out and got my associates degree instead at a very affordable community college.

Expenses:
Rent: $1,500
My Student Loans: $100
S/O Student Loans: $350
Insurance (car, renters, etc): $150
Credit Card: $160
Gas: $100 I occasionally bike the 7 miles to work. My S/O has a sweet commuter benefits plan and gets to ride a bus that is a 3 min drive from our apartment to right outside her office for free! Normally it’s $9 each way. Unfortunately it’s 3 miles on a highway so she can’t get there by bike.
Phone: $175 (insert face punch here)
Utilities: $125
Internet: $70
Civic: $250
Personal Loan: $500
Element: $230
Food/Fun: $800 (insert face punch here) This also includes Netflix, Amazon Prime and Hulu.

Total monthly expenses: $3710.