Author Topic: Husband job loss - how nervous should we be?  (Read 7174 times)

pandastache

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Husband job loss - how nervous should we be?
« on: February 08, 2018, 02:11:32 PM »
This is my first post although I have been following this forum for over a year.
My husband will be out of a job in less than two months. It doesn't appear that he will get much of a severance if any at all. I am a teacher.  My son is in college and up until now we have covered his college costs without loans. We didn't qualify for assistance because we both work. I am wondering if this will change significantly?

My main question is from looking at our expenses, if he doesn't find a job will we be okay? Our general expenses monthly are expenses that come up during the year that are not regular monthly expenses (oil, water, lessons, school fees, furnace maintenance, septic, etc.).

Topic Title: Husband will lose his job in less than 2 months. What kind of shape are we in? Should we panic? Any suggestions for the future? Most of our funds are in retirement accounts and we cannot access them until 59.5.

Life Situation: Married Filing jointly
Husband: 55 years old
Wife: 56 Years old
Son 1: 19 years old in college
Son 2: 16 years old

Gross Salary/Wages: Me: 96,356 (includes regular pay plus stipend)

Individual amounts of each Pre-tax deductions (yearly)
Medicare:    1396
401 K    15,600
Fed tax    13078
State Tax    4030
Ret MST 8% 7696
Ret MST 30K 1326
Life Ins.    988
Disability    910
Sta Teach 1032

* New due to job loss, I will have to purchase health insurance - potentially 1000 per month, cheapest insurance is 550 per month (there are deductions - not sure what they are yet.)

Other Ordinary Income: Intermittent side work  - 1855 per semester

Adjusted Gross Income: 50, 300(not including side job)

Monthly Current expenses:
Mortgage : 778.57
Escrow: 477.43 (insurance, property tax)
Accidental home insurance : 20.00
Gym: 40
Life Insurance: 38.50