Author Topic: Help me build a seven-year plan  (Read 5586 times)

nkt0

• Bristles
Help me build a seven-year plan
« on: May 20, 2018, 08:36:36 PM »
Topic Title: Reader Case Study - 7-year plan

Life Situation: I’m a 42 year-old married man (filing jointly) with no kids living in Philadelphia. I work full-time as a software developer, which enables my wife to pursue her dream as an indie author full-time. I’ll get into what that means later.

Gross Salary/Wages: $84k plus $6k net from publishing business

Pre-tax deductions: 4% 401k w employer match

Other Ordinary Income: My wife has some irregular editing income, usually around $200-300/month on average.

Taxes: Taxes are a little complicated because of the publishing business. We pay an average of +$4k in federal taxes per year in addition to normal wage taxes based on profits from the business. State tax in PA is fixed at 3.07%. Local wage tax in Philly is 3.8907%.

Net income after taxes and deductions: $61,632 + ~$10k from wife’s stuff

Current expenses:
Mortgage P&I   $1,212
Mortgage T&I   $394
Student Loan   $1,300
Food & Dining   $700 –> can chop this in half, most likely
Misc.    $185
Travel/Transportation   $500 -> probably more like $350 after running the numbers
Entertainment   $300 -> can chop in half
Healthcare   $350 -> might be able to move this to the business
Utilities   $177
Gifts & Charities   $200
iTunes   $50 -> can get this down to $15-20
Life Insurance   $27
TOTAL   $5,395

Assets:
House $290k
401k $24k
403b $40k
Trad IRA $3k
savings $8k
wife IRAs $70k plus $4k savings

Liabilities:
Mortgage original amount $209k
Current principal $187k @ 3.75% with 17 years left
Student loans $16k @ 4.5% with 1 year left