Author Topic: Help Appreciated  (Read 2374 times)

TrainingWheels

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Help Appreciated
« on: July 10, 2020, 11:00:22 AM »
Let me start by introducing myself. I am a long time lurker but unfortunately have been very stupid throughout my entire 20's and made a lot of mistakes that I am dealing with now. All help is appreciated. My longterm goals would definitely be early retirement by 50 but I have a long way to go. I currently have no retirement savings other than a pension.

I am currently 29 year old male, divorced, and have a fire lit under my ass to help me pay down my debts and overall progress towards my goals. I know that face punching is going to happen and I am eagerly awaiting each of your inputs.

Life Situation: I have been an RN for the past 6 years and recently graduated as a Nurse Practitioner. I currently work as a hospitalist in the hospital that I have been at for those number of years but I work with an independent practice group of physicians. The hours and work are pretty flexible. I am recently divorced (early 2019).

Net Pay: My net pay after Alimony ($200/month for the next 1.5 years) is $4600

Current expenses:

Rent - $1050 (Nice area, roughly <5 minutes from my hospital so I save a lot in gas money and my owners pay the Water/sewage)
Renters Insurance - $20/month
Electric - Around $80 but it fluctuates given month/season
Car Insurance - Geico $90 I did check around and this was the cheapest I could find
Internet - $60 200mb Internet for work/gaming
Phone - $150 Verizon ( It's very high I know, this is one area that I need to improve on)
Food - $800/month (this is probably my worst area as far as expenses. I know I need to cut down)
Gas - <$20/week

Debts:

Student Loans (federal) - $105K (unfortunately I was not smart about paying for my education. I know, I know...) $300/month
Car - $13k $300/month through Ally
Student Loan (independent) - SallieMae $3300 , $90/month