Author Topic: Have a baby on my own or aggressively pay off student loans... or both?  (Read 16870 times)

Eva_Eva

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I'm a moustachian newbie but have been reading the site for s while...
So this is my dilemma - I just turned 40 and thinking to have a baby on my own but the huge student loan debt is constantly on my mind...and the temptation is to do both at the same time? Obviously, I am terrified. I am at $117K in SL (don't ask, please!) and at 6.5% and I might be able to refinance down to 4% and aggressively pay this off in 5 years. But at 40, I have decided to get pregnant by the end of the year. If I refinance, it would be through my credit union and that means I will no longer benefit from the potential of any legislation that might be passed in the future (if the Dems take back congress, there might be a slim chance) so I am knowingly giving up that opportunity. I have no other debt and my living expenses are pretty low - $3000 which includes $800/student loans.
These are my numbers: NET - 80K/ year, $35K in retirement, emergency $3000. Having a baby on my own + my insurance with Kaiser is about $2K for the fertility clinic and $260 for delivery. I have lots of maternity and baby stuff from friends so I wouldn't need to buy too much.
Should I refi my student loans and throw $3K / month for 5 years until I am done with it, or should I wait until after I have a baby?  I am relying on no one but myself with everything.

Thank you,
E.

ToTheMoon

• Pencil Stache
I don't have any helpful suggestions, but @woolgather is in a similar situation.  Perhaps you can help each other out through this decision making/baby making process?

Best of luck with whatever you decide!

Gin1984

• Magnum Stache
From a kid of a single parent who chose to have a child completely on her own, don't do it please.

Eva_Eva

• 5 O'Clock Shadow